Rockford Criminal Defense Attorney
FREE CASE REVIEW
If you are charged with misdemeanor speeding, it is important that you hire a knowledgeable and skilled attorney to represent you. Just because you have been charged, does not mean you must be convicted. Find out all your options with a FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION (815) 209-6804
If you have a Comercial Drivers License, it is important to keep moving violations off your record. Accumulating 2 or more moving violations within a three year period of time can disqualify your ability to operate a commercial vehicle. Additionally, dispositions like Court Supervision will still count against your CDL. If you are a CDL holder and have been charged with a moving violation, it is important that you hire a skilled and knowledgeable attorney.
In Illinois, If you are 21 years of age or older and are convicted of 3 moving violations within a 12 month period, the Secretary of State will Suspend or Revoke your license. The length of suspension or revocation will be determined by the number of points that were accumulated across those 3 violations. Each moving violation is assigned a point value and the more serious violations receive higher values. Some common point values are listed below:
5 points – Speeding 1-10 mph above the limit
15 points – Speeding 11-14 mph above the limit
20 points – Speeding 15-25 mph above the limit
20 points – Disregarding a traffic control device
50 points – Speeding more than 25 mph above the limit
55 points – reckless driving
Once you accumulate 3 traffic violations within one year, the Secretary of State uses the following point schedule to determine whether your license will be suspended or revoked and for what period of time.
15 to 44 points – 2 months
45 to 74 points – 3 months
90 to 99 points - 9 month
100 to 109 points – 1 year
110 points or more - Revocation
Certain offenses can result in an immediate suspension or revocation when convicted, such as driving without insurance and driving under the influence. There are also several other ways your driving privileges can be suspended including failure to pay child support or not maintaining SR-22 insurance when required.
The traffic law in Illinois are extremely strict for young drivers. If you are under 21 years of age, you may receive court supervision only one time for a serious driving offense. Additionally any order granting court supervision must also require the driver to attend a traffic safety course. If you are convicted of two moving violation within a two year period, your license will be suspended for a minimum period of 3 months and you will not eligible for a probationary license. After the suspension is over, you will be required to pay a $70 reinstatement fee before regaining your driving privileges.
In certain circumstances, you may qualify for a probationary license if you have been suspended for 3 traffic violations within one year. To be eligible, you must have a driver's license, which is not expired, in your possession, you must be at least 21 years of age and your suspension must not be greater than 3 months. You also must attend an eight-hour Defensive Driving Class. A Probationary License will not restrict you to driving during certain hours or within a certain radius.
Need to speak with an Experienced Traffic Lawyer in Rockford, Illinois? Call The Law Office of Jonathan James for a FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION (779) 500-0167
A conviction for a traffic offense in Illinois can lead to high fines and increased insurance rates. If you have multiple offenses on your record, the Secretary of State could even suspend or revoke your driving privileges. The laws are even tougher for drivers that are under 21 years of age. If you are charged with a traffic offense and you want to keep a conviction off your record, Call my office and find out how we can help
Before you pay your ticket, learn what affects that will have on your license and your insurance and how they can possibly be avoided. Speak with an EXPERIENCED TRAFFIC ATTORNEY TODAY (779) 500-0167
The traffic laws have recently changed in Illinois making speeding charges of 26 mph or more over the limit a criminal offense. The new law classifies this charge as a class B misdemeanor with a possible fine of up to $1,500 and a possible sentence of up to 180 days in jail. If you were going more than 35 mph over the limit, you will be charged with a class A misdemeanor, which carries with it a possible fine of up to $2,500 and a possible sentence of up to 1 year in jail. Additionally, any persons charged with these offenses will no longer be eligible to receive court supervision if they have previously been convicted or received court supervision for a misdemeanor speeding charge. This means that the court must enter a criminal conviction on your record if you plead guilty or are found guilty at trial.
Law Office of Jonathan James, LLC
124 N. Water St Suite 206 Rockford, IL 61107
Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. In addition to providing general information, this website is also used for advertising purposes.